Saddi Dilli’s Inter State Bus Terminus (ISBT)….

Buses plying from saddi Dilli’s Inter State Bus Terminus connect people from 51 cities in the northern part of India with Dilli. Bus services from the three ISBT’s in Dilli start as early as 6.00 am in the morning and to most cities, there is a bus departing every 30 minutes. The three main Inter State Bus Terminals in Dilli are the Kashmere Gate bus terminal which is also the oldest one, the Anand Vihar bus terminal and the Sarai Kale khan bus terminal.

All the three inter state bus terminals are very strategically located on the outer ring road which encircles Dilli. As the name suggests the outer ring road has close proximity to the major exit points in Dilli which enter straight into the neighboring states of Haryana and Uttar Pradesh.

These ISBT’s are operated and maintained by the Delhi Transport Corporation better known as DTC in saddi Dilli. The DTC operates interstate services in 6 states which are Punjab, Haryana, Jammu & Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Rajasthan. There are about 51 interstate routes that the DTC operates through the three ISBT’s. The DTC strives to provide an efficient, comfortable, reliable, economical and properly coordinated bus service to the commuters of Dilli and adjoining states.

Very recently all the three bus terminuses have been rechristened and the new name of Kasmere Gate now is Maharana Pratap Inter State Bus Terminus, Anand Vihar is Swami Vivekananda Inter State Bus Terminus and Sarai Kale Khan is Vir Hakikat Rai Inter State Bus Terminus. Inter State as well as local bus services are being operated from all the three Inter State Bus Terminuses.

Day to day functioning of all the three ISBT’s is managed under the control of general Manager who is subordinated by Deputy General Manager, Accounts Officer, Executive Engineer and other staff including the Engineering financial and administrative. Besides one estate manager is posted for each ISBT to look after the functioning of his respective ISBT.

Leave a Reply